The Good Shepherd

04/26/2020

David became a hero after defeating the horrible giant.  But his road to being king would still take a while.

David was not just a warrior.  He was also a songwriter.  A lot of his songs are recorded in the Bible in the book of Psalms.  David's songs show that he was a man with a heart like God's.  David loved God and treasured time with Him.

In one of his songs, David wrote,

You made my whole being.  You formed me in my mother's body.

And...

All the days planned for me were written in your book before I was one day old.

Psalm 139:13, 16b (ICB)

David knew that He was made by God FOR God.  He was formed before He was born to love God!


Take some time today to sing this song!  It's based on David's!

Intro

David had defeated Goliath.  Now, the hero would have to.... go on the run?

       Watch Today's Lesson:       The Good Shepherd

God leads His own like a shepherd


Read the Story for Yourself!

Psalm 23

Take a sec to read the story directly from God's Word!  You can find it in Psalm 23.

A great way to read it is in the International Children's BIble (ICB) translation.  It's a simple and accurate Bible translation designed for kids.  Adults, like me, like it too!

Click here to read Psalm 23 in the ICB on Bible Gateway. 

Click here to buy the same ICB Prayer Bible that I use to prep for lessons!


QUIZ TIME!


Extra Time

David's song shows us how God leads His people.


Verse for the Week


"I keep my eyes always on the Lord.  I will not be shaken."

Psalm 16:8 


Sample Prayer

Father God, you lead your people with kindness and goodness. You meet their needs. Lead me too.    Direct my paths. Be my shepherd.                                                     AMEN.


Review Activity

Click the button below to access the review activity for this week's lesson.  It might be a good idea to print this out and complete it mid-week to help remember the lesson!

God leads His own like a shepherd

God was going to show His people how much He loved them.  He was going to send another shepherd: a good shepherd.

Who was that shepherd?  It was one of David's children's children.  It was the forever King.  Jesus!

But the forever King did something very unexpected.  He said,

I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd gives his life for the sheep.

John 10:11 (ICB)        

And Jesus did give His life for the sheep. He died on the cross in our place. What love! What grace! What a good shepherd!

Don't miss a lesson!  

Sign up for lesson reminders every Sunday!

Point of Grace Church
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started